Secretary Volunteer Fire Company,
Inc. was estalished on Feb. 5, 1937
with 63 charter members.
When the fire company was first started, the men
met in a building where the town hall now stands.
The first piece of fire equipment was a 1917 American La France,
purchased in Hamptead, MD.
The building that was the old firehouse, was an
school that was located on Academy Street. This structure
was moved to Myrtle Street where it was used as a school
until about 1940.
In 1940-41 this became the firehouse. This
building was used until October 1984 when it was burned to make
room for a new building, which was built in 1984-85. This building
now houses our current
equipment, which includes a 1976 Ford/Salisbury Tanker (750/1500),
a 1999 American La France (which carries our Hurst Rescue System),
a 2000 Ford Road Rescue Ambulance, a 1984 Chevrolet 1-1/4 ton
truck as our brush truck, and a 1982 Mack (1500/1000), plus our
antique a 1940 Diamond T.
The first Fire Chief was Carl Dean, and the
first President was Andy Sard.